I am Commander Sheppard and this is my favorite post on the Citadel

So, I am a huge fan of Bioware video games. I have been since the first Knights of the Old Republic (Kotor) game came out. Bioware’s approach to telling stories has historically been the among the best in any of video games. The twist in Kotor will be one that stays with me always. This love drove me to play the Mass Effect games. I played the first one on Xbox 360 when it came out and I was incredibly pleased by it. I will always remember being such an awesome good guy I convinced the bad guy his evil plan wasn’t actually worth it. Of course by then he had actually become a glorified meat puppet to the Reapers, who are on an eternal crusade to destroy organic life.

It took me several years to to come back and finish the other two games because my gaming systems by then had become badly outdated. While I fully admit the ending to the series was a disappointment after three games of character development it was still an experience across dozens of hours of game play that I wouldn’t change for anything. The reality is there are limits to any medium and I believe the ending of Mass Effect 3 was the very real expression of the limits of video games in offering choice.

But I am so excited for the return of the series in Mass Effect: Andromeda. This installment gets around the galaxy spanning consequences of the previous game by sending you to another galaxy. A distance so great that your characters left in cryogenic suspension before the dreaded ending of the third installment occurred. So, you are out on your own in a new galaxy unable to go back home  and get help.  Good luck Pathfinder. Here is the final trailer before the release of the game later this month.

Leave a Reply

